The Subclass 476 Visa


Although a temporary visa the subclass 476 Recognised Graduate visa is a valuable one.  It is a 4 year visa with unlimited work rights but is limited to only one profession, engineering.  Here is the basic criteria:


The applicant has completed a course:

(a)      in the period of 24 months ending immediately before the day on which the application is made; and

(b)      at an institution specified by the Minister in an instrument in writing for this paragraph;

for the award of a degree or higher qualification in a discipline specified in an instrument in writing for this clause.

Legislative Instrument F2014L00130 [07/02/2014] IMMI 14/010, specifies ‘engineering’ as the only discipline but as far as institutions are concerned states:


  1. SPECIFY, as an institution for the purposes of paragraph 476.212(b) of Schedule 2 to the Regulations, each institution:

    (a)    whose name is published on the website of an accrediting body that is a signatory to the Washington Accord; AND
    (b)    that conducts a course that is accredited by that accrediting body under the Washington Accord; AND

    [re The Washington Accord see– LEGEND note]


It also specifies


ArgentinaCatholic University of Argentina

BrazilFederal University of Minas Gerais

ChileUniversidad Catolica del Norte Catholic University of Chile -Antofagasta


University of Chile

University of Concepcion

FinlandHUT, Helsinki

GermanyRWTH, Aachen


Technical University of Berlin

Technical University of Clausthal

TU Bergakademie Freiberg

University of Hannover

HungaryUniversity of Miskolc

IndiaAnna University—Chennai


Banaras Hindu University—Varanasi

Indian Institute of Science—Bangalore

Indian Institute of Technology, Kharagpur

Indian School of Mines—Dhanbad

IranAmir Kabir University of Technology


University of Tehran

PRC ChinaBeijing Normal University


Beijing Petroleum University

Beijing University of Chemical Technology

Beijing University of Technology (formerly Beijing Polytechnic University)

China University of Mining & Technology—Beijing

Guangzhou University

Shanghai University of Engineering Science

Shanghai Jiaotong University

Tongji University

Tsinghua University

University of Science and Technology—Beijing

Philippines University of the Philippines

Poland Wroclaw University of Technology

Slovakia TU Kosice

Sweden Lulea University of Technology

Tanzania University of Dar es Salaam

Barbara Davidson